Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
molanic

Help..Too Many American Ladies!

molanic
11 years ago

This is my first time raising American Ladies. A few weeks ago I found a few small cats on my stand of pearly everlasting and was pretty excited to bring them in and raise them. Apparently there were way more than a few eggs deposited and every time I brought cuttings in for them more new cats appeared. The eggs were very hard to see on those fuzzy leaves and apparently they don't eat their young siblings like the monarchs can. I have probably a dozen AL chrysalises now and the potential for 40-60 more. Problem is my patch of pearly everlastings is almost gone. It has been showing some new growth and I try to limit how much I take off at a time to give it a chance to recover, but it will never grow fast enough.

I read up on other host plants and one mentioned was ironweed, which I have a ton of..I think they are common and new york ironweeds. I have added the cuttings to the containers for several days but there were no takers, not even a nibble. I went shopping for alternatives because I saw that both licorice plant and curry plant might be good options and readily available, but no luck finding them. I did find an Artemisia schmidtiana 'Silver Mound', but it was on the clearance table and pretty small and dried up. It will be awhile before it recovers and starts growing again. It is possible it may have pesticides on it too from the store. I saw cudweed listed as well and it says it is common, but I have not actually seen it before and would not even know where to look for it. Even if I were able to find suitable plants to buy I would need a lot of them and there is always the possibility that they have pesticides on them.