Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kristy_asao

I have questions

Kristy Asao
9 years ago

Hello,

Good health to ya!

I'm new to plants. I'm only doing plants for the butterflies. I started with Monarch butterflies. Heard they're declining. I'm helping them.

Mainly growing Milkweeds for Monarch caterpillars. I've got nectar plants (butterfly bushes, Hyssop, Lantanas) too. Soon to be getting more plants! I can't stop now! Lol Originally didn't know about this message board. lol What's the best mulch for my area? Is it straw? I've got really dry soil.

Does my Milkweeds not need any fertilizer?

And I have this caterpillar/leech thing. It reminds me of a fuzzy leech. Its head moves like a leech. And some times they try to goo my fingers if I touch them. What is it? Thanks alot guys!

Comments (16)

• Kristy Asao
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Some of my Monarch caterpillars. ^__^

• Leafhead
    9 years ago

Kudos on helping the Monarch and other pollinators, and welcome to the Forum :) Beautiful Monarch cats. Where are you located?
    That first larva looks like a hoverfly larva. They eat Aphids and other insects and mites, but they'll take your Monarch eggs and hatchlings. Once the cats get bigger, these will no longer be a threat.
    Milkweed tends to get infested c Aphids at times and it's good to have a few beneficials like these on your side. Other insects to look for are Lacewing larvae (Aphid Lions), which look like little alligators, and Ladybugs, whose larvae look like little Gila monsters.
    Tiny parasitic wasps also make short work of Aphids. These will not bother your caterpillars. These "Bennies" generally "eat and run", dissipating after eating all the Aphids.
    Other plant to include in your new garden are Pipevine (Aristolochia), Passion Flower and Fennel. Cassias are small trees (around 6') that bring swarms of Sulfurs.
    Rue other members of Rutaceae (Citrus Family) that grow in your area will draw Giant Swallowtails.