Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
msmorningsong

A Butterfly Conservatory

msmorningsong
12 years ago

Hello again,

I am just beginning to read through these posts, and see that some of you actually keep a conservatory for butterflies. Can you please elaborate more on this concept. What is the smallest one a person could build and have it work? Photos would be great here, as well as schematics...or nearly so, lol.

What butterflies can a person keep in one? Are there species that would not survive in one? Mine would be overwintering in zone 9A/B edge. What plants do well in these enclosed spaces,

and work as hosts for the butters too, of course...

Any ideas for me? :)

Comments (10)

• MissSherry
    12 years ago

None of us keep conservatories, if by conservatory, you mean a totally enclosed, usually glass, house for adult butterflies to live in, like butterfly houses in such places as Callaway Gardens. Those butterfly houses keep tropical butterflies, not our native species.
    We raise our own caterpillars (to keep them from being eaten/killed by the large variety of caterpillar predators) by taking the eggs or young caterpillars from their host plants and raising them in the safety of various types of enclosures. When they emerge as adults, we release them to live outside as they normally would. We don't raise any caterpillars other than those native to our own areas.
    I think to have an actual conservatory, you need to jump through all kinds of governmental hoops with permits and licenses and then undoubtedly inspections, I don't know the particulars. I've never heard of an at-home, small scale conservatory, I have no clue about that.
    Sherry

• bananasinohio
    12 years ago