Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
christie_sw_mo

Any color variation in Easter Tiger cats?

christie_sw_mo
12 years ago

This is my first year to raise Tiger Swallowtails inside. I have around 20 that I've found on my Tulip tree. Most of them I collected as eggs or at an early instar stage. All but two looked the same. My two odd ones were very newly hatched out of their eggs when I found them, very close to each other on my Tulip tree. They were green and white instead of brown and white during their early instar stage. They never went through a stage when they were brown and white like my others did. I've kept them separate from my other cats and they are now getting ready to form a chrysalis.

Are there any other cats that might look very similar to Eastern Tiger Swallowtails that would use Tulip tree as a host or is it just normal for them to have some color variation?

Comments (13)

• MissSherry
    12 years ago

I've never seen or heard of a tiger swallowtail cat that varied from the usual pattern, Christie. Did you get a picture of these two as green and white early instar cats? I hope so, because I think this is undoubtedly very rare. I can't think off hand of any other cat that they might be.
    Keep us posted about them. Oddities are interesting!
    Sherry

• butterflymomok
    12 years ago

How about the later stages? Were they still different from the other ETSWs? If they had the white saddle, I would say they were tigers. I have seen color variations in other species. I haven't raised enough of the tigers to know.

Black Swallowtail cats can have some color variations, as well as Monarchs. Most notable, would be the red and black caterpillars of the Pipevine Swallowtail. Some are burgundy with red spikes, and others are black with red spikes. I had a burgundy colored cat eclose the other day. Black seems to be the more common color. And there is lots of color variation in the chrysalides of swallowtails.

Sandy

• christie_sw_mo
    Original Author