Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mill8299

Black swallowtail butterflies

mill8299
10 years ago

Hi everyone. I'm new here and I hope someone can help me. Ill keep this short. Hopefully. About a month ago I had caterpillars on my parsley plants. I have then moved them to the shelter of a 20 gallon fish tank. They are all now chrysalises...all 17 of them!!! I have one little guy that has started darkening I'm wondering if there's a way to know how long before he emerges. It's my first time doing this.
Any knowledge would be helpful. Thank you
Also what plants can I purchase to ensure when released they stick around?

Comments (9)

• wifey2mikey
    10 years ago

I'd say there's a pretty good chance he's coming out this morning or early afternoon. When you can see through the chrysalis and see the colors of the little butterfly inside, eclosion is imminent.

Black Swallowtails at my house seem to prefer a variety of nectar plants. I have seen them on Lantana, Phlox, Butterfly Bush, Zinnias, and Cone Flowers.

Good Luck and congratulations!

~Laura

• mill8299
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Wow you were correct! To my amazement I have a male..I believe. I scrambled around and threw together some nectar for him. What a beauty. I just released him or really he released himself. The most beautiful thing! Thank you -Jen

• MissSherry
    10 years ago

What a beauty - congratulations, Jen!!

Sherry

• bandjzmom
    10 years ago