Return to the Butterfly Garden Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Lep and maybe not lep IDs?

Posted by molanic Z5 IL (My Page) on
Tue, Jul 22, 14 at 14:05

Found this guy on a tomato plant. Yellow-striped armyworm?

From 2014_07

This one looks like a moth, but I am not very good at figuring out moths.

From 2014_07

This one I thought was moth at first, but don't see any antennae in the picture.

From 2014_07

This one I found on a viburnum while looking for snowberry clearwing moth eggs. I thought it was a caterpillar initially, but when it started moving I realized it probably wasn't. It moves like something in a horror movie. I could also see what I think was food moving inside it through the flesh which was pretty cool. Any ideas.

From 2014_07

Video to see how it moves. It goes for my finger at the end. The little bugger left marks on my camera lens that were not easy to get off.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Lep and maybe not lep IDs?

I would say you have pics of moths--the one without the antennae if you touch it or anything like that, the antennae generally sweep forward.

The bottom one I have no idea about--but have seen larvae who are fairly transparent too. Maybe it's a syrphid larva?

o

Photo 1: Yes, it is that armyworm.
Photo 2: Hypena scabra, green cloverworm moth
Photo 3: Noctua pronuba, large yellow underwing moth

Photo 4: The trick on these larva is to turn them over and see how many pairs of abdominal segment legs (protolegs) they have. Many fly larva have a pair of legs on every segment; moth or butterfly larvae do not. All of these larvae will have 3 pairs of thoracic (true) legs.

o

Thanks guys, you're great. Next time after I get at least one picture I may give it a little nudge to better see the antennae or open wing pattern. I did also submit the armyworm and cloverworm moth pics to bamona and just got the confirmation from them too.