Return to the Butterfly Garden Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
finally!

Posted by Corgikarma 6 (My Page) on
Wed, Jul 30, 14 at 14:14

Last week I found a black swallowtail cat on the parsley which is now covered. Today I saw a monarch out flitting around the mikweeds and she left two eggs! I cut the stems and have them in a sterile mason jar. This is my first time and I am so excited for this activity! Some of you may remember my earlier post about having such a lack of butterflies. I am so glad to see some eastern swallowtails, black swallowtails and monarchs around here!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: finally!

Congratulations! It really IS exciting!

Sherry

o

I also found a monarch cat!

o

Any tips for a newby? I also want to buy a butterfly cage, any you guys would recommend? Also, can the swallowtail go in with the monarchs?

o

I like the sound of this one with a side zipper: http://www.amazon.com/Butterfly-Cage-Foot-Tall-Habitat/dp/B00H2A4X68/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1406751526&sr=8-3&keywords=butterfly+cage

o

Any suggestions for a newbie?

o

I've used that type in the past and really didn't like it. Mine was very thin and flimsy, so it wasn't strong enough to hold a left overs container filled with water, plus, since it hangs, the left overs container could easily spill water if bumped. I don't know how strong this particular version of it is, but, based on the price, I doubt it's any different from the one I used. I tried using water picks, but when I tried to secure them to the very thin, mesh sides, it made a mess. Also, it's hard to keep paper towels straight at the bottom of it, to catch frass.