Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jibd

First Monarch Eggs

jibd
12 years ago

Hi all,

Just now I found monarch eggs on my tropical and purple milkweeds! This is the first time I've found eggs of any kind, as this is my first year butterfly gardening. Since I've never done this before, I have some questions!

First, I'll be ordering a butterfly rearing tent, but I wasn't happy with the ones on amazon, since they seemed pretty small (11 by 11). Where do you guys buy them? Second, do I do anything special with the eggs? I don't want them to get eaten by anything, but I'm afraid that if I bring the leaves they're on inside that the leaves will shrivel up before the eggs hatch. Lastly, how do you guys feed the cats? My purple milkweeds are still all under a foot tall since I grew them from seed, so I'll be feeding them with swamp milkweed and tropical milkweed, which I have plenty of. Do I cut off portions of the plants and put them in water in the enclosure? I'd really appreciate hearing about other people's set ups.

I'm really very excited, as these will be my first caterpillars to raise! Here's a pic or two of the eggs on the Asclepias purpurascens:

http://i1185.photobucket.com/albums/z344/jibd123/IMG_0873.jpg

http://i1185.photobucket.com/albums/z344/jibd123/IMG_0871.jpg

And here are some pics of the butterfly that stopped by a few days ago, most likely the mom.

http://i1185.photobucket.com/albums/z344/jibd123/IMG_0796.jpg

http://i1185.photobucket.com/albums/z344/jibd123/IMG_0792.jpg

Comments (6)

• docmom_gw
    12 years ago