Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ruth_mi_gw

Advice for monarch cats

Ruth_MI
10 years ago

I now have 11 monarch cats. I'm a newbie and full of questions, even after a fair amount of reading. I raised a couple monarchs with my sons years ago, but we had a large insect house and used that.

The cats are still tiny (just found them yesterday morning), and right now I have each one in a separate canning jar, but am using paper towel instead of the metal top - I put the ring over the paper towel.

I'd prefer to combine them into an appropriate number of larger containers, but have a few questions:

1) I like the tomato cage/paint strainer cages I saw here, and am thinking I'll make as many of those as needed. How many cats per cage ideally?

2) If I make the new cages now, can the cats go in them soon? It would be nice not to have to clean out all those little jars every day. :-) I did put paper towel pieces on the bottom, so it's not that big of a deal.

3) Right now I have one leaf per jar. The leave stems are in wet paper towel, and that's wrapped in foil. The leaves stand up in the jars. Once I put them in the cages, do I just put the leaves on the bottom?

4) Do I need any sticks or anything in the cages? Or will they just climb up the metal of the tomato cage when needed?

Thanks for any insights!!

Comments (11)

• docmom_gw
    10 years ago