Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
linda_centralokzn6

Monarch Watch is wanting an idea on Monarch numbers

linda_centralokzn6
15 years ago

Hello everyone. Chip Taylor from Monarch Watch is wanting as idea on the numbers currently being seen, ie backyards, butterfly counts, and how the numbers compare in previous years- normal, more, less? And, where you are from, if not posted in your user name.

Would appreciate your input, and I'll forward it on.

Thanks a bunch!

Linda

Comments (65)

• tdr4
    15 years ago

I am in Gulfport, Mississippi and I have not seen one. I have over 20 milkweeds in my yard. Several are around 5 feet tall(about as tall as me).

• marymilkweed
    15 years ago

I live in Altamonte Springs, Seminole Cty, just N of Orlando. This is my first year raising butterflies, I especially love the Monarchs. I have released 19 Monarchs since May 5th. I have 4 about to pupate. I have three paroling the yard at one time, and a female laying eggs over the last two days. I have 4 milkweed potted plants, next year, I will have a milkweed garden. Mary

• caterwallin
    15 years ago

I forgot to say that I'm in central PA.

• bananasinohio
    15 years ago

Definately less here in SW Ohio. I had one in my yard in mid June and none since then. No eggs on any of the milkweed in my yard. I went out butterfly watching in a nearby nature preserve on Monday. I saw Black Swallowtails, Pipevine Swallowtails, Buckeyes, Question Marks, Sulphurs, but no Monarchs. We have had a very wet and at times cold spring. I have an explosion of ants in my yard and wonder if that has taken it's toll on the butterflies this year. There have been less than usual.
    -Elisabeth

• tracey_nj6
    15 years ago

Good news today; 3 fluttering around. 1 male, 1 female, 1 too hyper to land. July 10th, 2008, New Milford, NJ.

• DYH
    15 years ago