Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
scg_

Been inspired by you...

Well I ran around with my camera and tripod like I remember being a kid with a net. Of course the sun went away just as I got in my groove but it was fun. While not the beauties you all get these are the butterflies we have.

Oh and please correct ID if I am wrong as I am an absolute beginner at this.

Common wood nymph

{{gwi:516269}}

Pecks skipper

{{gwi:516271}}

A fritt...can't decide if it is an arctic or a meadow.. it is drawn to yellow... Sorry for the backdrop it was very hard to get close to. ID help?

{{gwi:516273}}

Only seen this once and it is a bad picture but I can't find anything close to it on the net. Maybe will see it again soon.

{{gwi:516275}}

Thanks for looking. Hopefully soon it will be a picture of a wonderful monarch and a canadian swallowtail.

SCG

Comments (33)

• Liz
    10 years ago

Gorgeous photos! I've never seen any of those. Were they all in your garden, or did you go out to other local areas?

• MissSherry
    10 years ago

Beautiful pictures - thanks for posting them!

Sherry

• bandjzmom
    10 years ago

Hello! I really love your photos. Thanks so much for sharing them with us. It's very interesting to me to see the butterflies in your area. I see that Sherry did not hazard a guess on the ID's, and that should definitely be my cue to also refrain from doing so! LOL! Just for fun though, take a look at the Mormon Fritillary on Google images and see if you think that could be a match. The last one looks to be a Gray Hairstreak to my unprofessional eyes. It sounds like you had a lot of fun shooting them, and that is just awesome. Keep posting.
    Angie :)

• SouthCountryGuy Zone 4b-5 SE BC
    Original Author
    10 years ago

dr.liz and misssherry Thanks, and yes these were in my garden.

bandjzmom Thanks! Great stab at the ID of the fritillary too. With your name I was able to do another search and am torn between the mormon fritillary and the great spangled.