Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
frankiebf

Strange use of host plants for eastern tiger

frankiebf
13 years ago

Today I was in my neighbors yard and a female eastern tiger was hovering around the peach tree in their yard. It then came and landed quickly at a low branch right in front of me and laid an egg, after she laid that egg she flew up higher in the tree and continued laying eggs. I never knew that peach trees were host to eastern tigers..i collected the egg on the low branch and I'm going to try and raise it on peach leaves. Has anyone ever heard of them using this tree before as a host? I'm located in northern Illinois.

Comments (15)

• bandjzmom
    13 years ago

Hmmmm...that is strange. I am no expert, but I have never heard of them using Peach. Just to be safe, perhaps you should collect some of their known host plants to feed the cats when they hatch?

• runmede
    13 years ago

According to Scotts, "The Butterflies of North America" (CD-ROM). They use peach tree (Prunus persica). This is why I love this CD-ROM. Put it in the drive and you can see a world of information. You can copy texts, but not pictures. For example, these are the host plants listed for the Tiger Swallowtail, Papilio glaucus: