Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jasenka_gw

Butterfly bush - sun/shade question

jasenka
16 years ago

Hi all,

I just ordered 2 butterfly bushes (Harlequin and Black Knight) and when they arrive in september plan to plant them next to each other on a spot in my back yard where they should have sun from about 11 am (in the heat of the summer - earlier and later then mid June it would be from noon) to sunset with a breaf shadow around 4 pm (about 20 minutes) from a nearby tree.

So, my question is, from your experience, do you think this is good place for them, and will they flower well there?

Also the soil is mostly clay and water has hard time in absorbing into soil (when I water the plants the water stays on the ground making puddles for about 2-4 minutes before it is fully absorbed), so I guess it would be best to put the BB in raised beds, right?

Thank you for answers :))

Jasenka

Comments (4)

• mcronin
    16 years ago

Jasenka,

I'm not an expert, but I've lost only ONE of my 60 butterfly bushes in our one-acre butterfly sanctuary since 1995. Your locations will provide plenty of sun. I don't think you should use raised beds because the roots spread so much over the years. I have horrible red clay on rather steep slopes and have to amend all my plant beds. For my butterfly bushes I dig beds about 2-feet deep and 4-6 feet wide and remove the red clay. I add A MINIMUM of 80 pounds of top soil, 40 pounds of composted cow manure and 40 pounds of mulch and mix it up thoroughly, and walk on it to firm the soil. I then dig a hole for the plant, fill the hole with water and let it sink in, plant the butterfly bush and firm the soil around it, water it thoroughly again, mulch around it with 3-4 inches of mulch, and water it weekly (IF NEEDED) for the first year. Each year in the late fall, I add mulched leaves around each plant to slowly improve and maintain the soil. I fertilize each butterfly bush once a year in early spring with slow-release fertilizer ( somethin