Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
catherinet11

Look what we found last night

catherinet
12 years ago

This is so cool. It was really hard to catch a shot of this little (big) guy, but here's a fairly decent one. He has a wing span of about 3-4".

I believe its a Carolina Sphinx moth.

{{gwi:521410}}

Comments (14)

• catherinet
    Original Author
    12 years ago

I'm not very good at this, but here's a try at enlarging and sharpening the pic.
    {{gwi:521411}}

• bob_71
    12 years ago

You're doing very well!

Bob

• rhizo_1 (North AL) zone 7
    12 years ago

They are such fabulous moths. Have you been sacrificing your tomatoes to their caterpillars, lol!

• MissSherry
    12 years ago

Great picture, Catherine!

Sherry

• tomatoworm59
    12 years ago

Carolina, all right! Fantastic photo, too. Do you have any tomatoes, peppers, eggplant or even Datura or Brugmansia for the larvae of this species?

• ronkw
    12 years ago

WOW...Great shot!

• catherinet
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Thanks everyone. I have tomatoes and peppers, but sure haven't seen any larvae. Do they like anything else?
    I've been looking over my tomatoes and haven't seen anything, unfortunately. I even have some milkweed growing in the garden and saw some poop........but it wasn't even monarchs, but rather tussock moth cats (I think??). Its been an upside down summer this year.
    We saw this Carolina moth a few nights ago at dusk, and got all excited.......but then saw a bird chasing it! We were very happy to see it had survived. We were standing on the deck cheering for it........"GO!!!....RUN!!!!"

• catherinet
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Some further reading shows me that the cats I'm seeing on the milkweed are Milkweed Tussock moths. That's why they're on the milkweed! Learn something new every day!

• bettyd_z7_va
    12 years ago

That is too cool!

Is its eyes really purple?

Betty

• rhizo_1 (North AL) zone 7
    12 years ago