Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
butterflyman

Monarch count in your area?

butterflyman
9 years ago

The last two months have been very good for us in St. Louis MO compared to the last two years. I've had Monarchs around for the last two months, plus I raised some cats and had another generation started ten days ago plus I just saw some monarchs mating today.

I'm wondering what people's perception is of the state of the Monarchs in their area?

Comments (20)

• Corgikarma
    9 years ago

This is my first year planting milkweed, so I can't speak for previous years. I raised 9 cats (lost two) and just found some new eggs and cats. There has consistently been a monarch in the garden about all summer

• docmom_gw
    9 years ago

For me it has been slow as far as seeing actual butterflies, but I've found plenty of Monarch eggs to raise.

Martha

• Leafhead
    9 years ago

I've raised about 15 cats this season, with the most consistent Monarchs being in recent weeks.

John

• Adella Bedella
    9 years ago

This is my first year to plant milkweed to try and attract monarchs. I had three monarch chrysalis(s) that hatched. There could have been more, I didn't realize what I was looking at at first. I've had daily monarch sightings since June/July. Ive seen as many as three out there at a time. I've seen two sets of "coupled" monarchs flying around in the last five days. This is more than I've seen flying around naturally in the last twenty years. My milkweed is infested with some little white things on top of the leaves. I may not get more caterpillars.

It has been fun. My kids and husband love it. The neighbors have noticed the butterflies and hummingbirds. They've even mentioned planting more plants of what I have to attract them.

• BERGER123
    9 years ago

This has been the best year for monarchs in 8 years. I've raised 45-55 monarchs this year.
    Jacob

• Corgikarma
    9 years ago

Molanic, that's why I got a hanging net!
    I can't imagine 200...

• terrene