cat ID please...this thing is HUGE

bluebirdbabe
12 years ago

please tell me what this will be....it's huge 4" long

{{gwi:528660}}

Comments (17)

• terryr
    12 years ago

Gosh I am no expert..however, I believe that's the Cecropia Moth caterpillar.

• bev2009
    12 years ago

It's beautiful, whatever it is. What tree/shrub is it on?

• bluebirdbabe
    Original Author
    12 years ago

It's got a brown spot on top of it's head...I hope it is ok. It is hanging in a cherry tree...not sure what kind of cherry tree, but I have never seen anything like this before.

• MissSherry
    12 years ago

It's a last instar cecropia moth. I don't know why it's got that brown on its head, but it's undoubtedly about to spin its big cocoon among leaves somewhere, maybe right there.
    Congratulations! There's no more beautiful big moth than a cecropia!
    Sherry

• tomatoworm59
    12 years ago

Callosamia promethia. It is one of the saturniids, but not a Cecropia.

• MissSherry
    12 years ago

The cat on the left in this picture is a last instar promethea moth, and the cat on the right is a mid-instar cecropia -
    {{gwi:485464}}
    And here's a late instar cecropia cat-
    {{gwi:481526}}
    She said her cat was huge - prometheas aren't huge - and it has the round orange knobs on its head that cecropias, not prometheas, have.
    Sherry

• MissSherry
    12 years ago

P.S. It's also got the blue cecropia "shoes" and it's on cherry, a favorite of cecropias.
    Sherry

• bluebirdbabe
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Thanks Sherry...yes it is in a sand cherry tree and right now it is hanging upside down at the end of a branch (and yes, it is very large) ....I can't wait to see it when it comes out. Do they over winter and come out in the spring?? I can't wait that long to see it lol

Karen

• terryr
    12 years ago