Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
scorpgirl29

Need Some Advice From The Experts

scorpgirl24
12 years ago

I bought a fennel plant about 3 weeks ago with some swallowtail cats already on it.

I transplanted the fennel and put a butterfly net on top of the pot.

Well, those little buggers are getting huge. The largest is probably 1 1/2" long. There seems to be enough fennel, for now. There are 4 that are larger and one that is still tiny. I am a newbie at this and need a bit of advice.

Do the cats need a small stick to attach themselves or will they use a jute string that is surrounding the bamboo stakes and fennel plant?

I am prepared to buy another plant, if they need the food. I can place a small stick from one bamboo stake to another at that point.

Please advise me as to what to do next. After losing 13 cats on some dill earlier in the season, I learned that the net was the saving grace.

Here are some pics.

Any advice help is appreciated!

Jo

{{gwi:529357}}

{{gwi:529358}}

{{gwi:529359}}

{{gwi:529360}}

{{gwi:529361}}

Comments (15)

• ladobe
    12 years ago

Well, I'm just a beginner, but most likely they will simply pupate on one of the stems of the plant. Maybe on the string if they find it, or even on the netting. You can always put something else in there for them, they may use it or they may not.
    HTH

• scorpgirl24
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Thank you ladobe.
    Anyone is an expert compared to me!! I am hoping they pupate without needing any intervention. I'm amazed at the process, but I have to confess...caterpillars generally creep me out!
    I am an avid gardener and encounter many creepy-crawlies. I can handle most of them, but caterpillars are one thing that give me the willies! I think it stems from the gypsy moth invasion when I was a kid. Oh yeah, and the time when I almost had a hornworm in my hair while picking tomatoes!!
    That being said, I am loving watching these cats!! They grow larger every day!!