Return to the Butterfly Garden Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
My first Monarchs progression!

Posted by Corgikarma 6 (My Page) on
Fri, Aug 1, 14 at 19:42

Here are some of the photos so far of the six eggs and two cats I found Wednesday. I am so excited!
 photo monarch2_zps17c8ba0b.jpg

This post was edited by Corgikarma on Fri, Aug 1, 14 at 20:21

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: My first Monarchs progression!

Next picture

o

Awww, they look so cute at that stage!

o

I do have a question, is tropical milkweed alright to feed them? I noticed there were no eggs on the tropical milkweed so I'm wondering if the cats will eat it.

o

I'm no expert, but yes, they do eat tropical milkweed. In fact, I think it is one of their favorites. I raised mine last year on tropical milkweed and they all did well.

If only I had some to raise this year. Sigh.
Liz

o

Unfortunately I lost a cat. This morning it was curled up on a leaf. I'm hoping this isn't a trend with the rest of these babies

o

Corgikarma,
Unfortunately, spontaneous death of caterpillars is a very common part of this process. Sometimes a cause can be found, but sometimes not. I started with 13 eggs, which all hatched, but I'm down to 7 cats. I think several just wandered off, since my container was not air tight, and I never found dead cats. But, 4 I just found sitting still and turning dark/black and gooey. I have learned to touch or move them as little as possible. If a cat is sitting still of by itself on the wall of the container, leave it alone, but watch closely to see if it moves again, or if it is giving up.