Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
monkeybelle

Tithonia

monkeybelle
11 years ago

This is my first year growing tithonia. I started from seed indoors, planted outdoors in late May. I don't recall the variety, but it was a Burpee seed pack, and allegedly they were supposed to grow to about 3' high. Well, they are now close to 7', and not a single bloom or bud. They just keep getting taller. They get watered well once per day, twice if the temp is really high. The area they are in get some morning shade, with full sun from noon-late afternoon.

Any suggestions on what I did wrong, or what I could do to force a bloom? It looks like I have giant weeds in the garden!

-Sandy.

Comments (12)

• Tony G
    11 years ago

In my experience growing tithonia, it seems to thrive best when getting morning sun and afternoon shade. The foliage tends to burn when they get too much sun.

In fact, I just pulled my tithonia that was getting the most direct sun because both flowers and foliage looked horrible. My best plant is between 7-8 feet tall with lots of blooms and gets a good portion of afternoon shade.

I also added osmocote slow release fertilizer to all the plants at the beginning of the season.

I hope you get some buds/blooms soon! Tony

• terrene
    11 years ago

You didn't do anything wrong! This is usually a large annual. Your plants actually sound like they are thriving. I'm surprised you don't have blooms yet since you are in zone 7. Mine just started blooming this week, but there are only 2 whole flowers! Don't worry though, they will get lots of blooms and the pollinators do indeed LOVE them.

There are some shorter cultivars of Tithonia rotundifolia - Fiesta del Sol, and a new one called Twinkle, as well as one with golden flowers.

You never know with gardening sometimes, plants don't often grow in a predictable way!

• lucas_tx_gw
    11 years ago