Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jeanner_gw

Is this a hackberry tree?

jeanner
13 years ago

This is a young tree and I've not noticed any berries on it. Also, the top branches have alternating leaves, I didn't even notice until I took this picture that the leaves were opposing in the picture.

If it's not hackberry, what could it be? I have American elm and slippery elm and I don't think it's either of those, the leaves are pretty smooth for an elm ... but I am an amateur at tree identification.

Thanks for the help ...

{{gwi:532276}}

{{gwi:532278}}

Comments (10)

• runmede
    13 years ago

No, this is not a hackberry. It could be a walnut.

Leaves of the Hackberry are alternate, not opposite. The leaves are also lope-sided. One curves down and the other curves up at the base. Leaves are toothed, too.

Here is a link that might be useful: Hackberry Ulmaceae Celtis occidentalis

• jeanner
    Original Author
    13 years ago

It's not a walnut, I have lots of those and this is different.

It is strange, but like I said, the top branches are alternate - but the branch I photographed had opposing leaves, I guess I should picked a different branch. The leaves are lobe-sided - look at the leaves in the lower right corner and you can see it - granted not drastically lobed but somewhat. And the leaves are slightly toothed but not deeply toothed. I think that is why I am confused!!

• rhizo_1 (North AL) zone 7
    13 years ago

What you've taken a picture of are several COMPOUND LEAVES, with the leaflets arranged in an opposite manner. They are oddly (an odd number of leaflets) pinnately compound, to be precise. Compound leaves (of many kinds) are very common in the plant world...roses, many types of beans, hickory, walnut, and all of the rest of that tree family, ash, and so on.

I'd say that this is one of the many hickory species, though it could be a pecan. If I could see better how many leaflets are on each leaf, it might be possible to ID this tree for you.