Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
butterguy

Surprise Swallowtails!

Tony G
12 years ago

This is my first year raising BSTs and I have 9 chrysalises. 2 are green and 7 are brown.

I read in here that the brown chrysalides meen the BST had gone into diapause.

I was tending to my monarchs late this afternoon when I looked into my plastic aquarium with 3 brown chrysalides...and saw 2 butterflies!!!

{{gwi:532585}}

All my caterpillars are in an enclosed porch that gets some afternoon sun (windows are always open). Maybe the combination of being in a warm porch and a plastic aquarium brought them out of diapause? tomorrow is going to be even warmer and all of the cats pupated around the same time.

This got me thinking, what is the lifespan of the BST adult? will they migrate to warmer weather or just die when it gets too cold here? Thanks in advance, Tony

Comments (9)

• MissSherry
    12 years ago

'Beautiful picture of a beautiful female black swallowtail, Tony!
    I don't know where they go or how long they live. They're the most mysterious butterfly around here. I rarely ever see them in my garden, like maybe once a year, but they must visit more often than that, because the eggs/cats turn up on rue and other host plants in my garden every year. After I release the butterflies, I don't see them any more.
    The brown chrysalides can either emerge right away or overwinter. The green ones always emerge right away, never overwinter, at least so far. When it comes to BSTs, though, never bet on anything!
    Sherry

• Tony G
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Thanks so much Sherry!

I had a third female eclose today from a brown chrysalis. The two green ones are ,well...still green.

I have also seen them in the garden on rare occassions. I've actually seen two females in the last week (before mine hatched) but I don't know if I have EVER seen a male BST after seeing pictures.