Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ncrescue

Deer Repellants and Butterflies

Lynda Waldrep
10 years ago

Can anyone tell me if deer repellants are harmful to butterflies? After years of mostly native shade gardening, I am branching out to sunny areas. Alas, the deer like most of those plants, too.

In a recent pollinator workshop, no one could tell us if the so called organic products in these deer sprays are bad for butterflies or other pollinators.

Any ideas out there? ( I am usually on the native plant forum; this is my first time here. It appears to be a very active forum. Great!)

Comments (14)

• Leafhead
    10 years ago

I don't think they are harmful, if organic solutions are used.
    Hot pepper may work.
    Another option is to avoid the most deer vulnerable plants altogether while growing other more deer resistant plants such as Milkweed.
    Growing wood nettle (stinging) as opposed to False Nettle will deter nibblers of all kinds as well.
    I deal more c rabbits. What they leave alone (Not much!!) includes Anaphalis, Clethra, Joe-Pye Weed, Swamp Milkweed,
    Goldenrod, and Antennaria.

• Lynda Waldrep
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Deer ate the Joe Pye, goldenrods, sunflowers. At least that was in the early summer. Then i sprayed, but I noticed the insects avoiding the plants after that. Don't want to have conflicting situations.

Thanks for your comments.

• Leafhead
    10 years ago

Ouch!! I can only vouch for the bunnies, thankfully no deer in my backyard. Just bunnies and lots of those Japanese Beetles.

• SouthCountryGuy Zone 4b-5 SE BC
    10 years ago

I have no experience with this but have heard from severals that it works for 'them'. They take 2 raw eggs and crack them in their 1 gal sprayers. Shake well and spray plants. I guess it works for a couple weeks or the next rainfall. YMMV.

SCG

• Liz
    10 years ago