Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
catherinet11

Help with I.D. -no pic

catherinet
12 years ago

I was out riding our trails in my golf cart last evening and saw a most beautiful little butterfly. Of course I didn't have my camera! After I went and got my 2 butterfly/moth I.D. booklets, it had closed its wings for the night, and I didn't want to bother it.

Okay....here's my fairly bad description of it. When its wings were open, it was about 1 and 1/2" wide. It had the horizontal-type shape like a zebra swallowtail. The entire length of its wing margins were these little round circles of yellow or orange. The inner part of its wings (by its body) were darker brown, as was its body. What was so beautiful were these yellow and orange mosaic-type circles at the wing margins.

I'm so sorry this is such a bad description. I'm not a butterfly expert, so I'm sure I'm not even using the correct terms. I went through every pic in both my butterfly books and couldn't find a pic of it.

Any suggestions as to what it was? It was so beautiful, and I'd never seen one before.

We live in the woods with lots of fields around us.

Thanks for your help.

Comments (11)

• MissSherry
    12 years ago

Milbert's tortoiseshell?

Sherry

• Tony G
    12 years ago

Miss Sherry, THANK YOU! I purchased 3 milbert tortoise shell chrysalides at the state fair and forgot what they were called.

What a strange name for a butterfly. Tony

• catherinet
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Thanks Sherry,
    Close, but no cigar! It has that shape, but the bottom of its wings and around the margins had row upon row of orange and yellow circles. Keep trying though!

• catherinet
    Original Author
    12 years ago

After looking through a few million pics online, I'm thinking maybe a great spangled fritillary?? It has more colors though. The bottom wing was packed with yellow and orange circles........looked like stained glass window.