Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
beth_willett

Happy Cats!

Beth Willett
9 years ago

Forgive my obsession with this, but this is my first time raising butterflies and I have to share! Its so fun watching these grow everyday. So far so good! I had two more that were thriving that I gave to a 2nd grade teacher - I had a hard time parting with them! I'm truly in midlife crisis. I think I need a grandchild!

Comments (19)

• Kristy Asao
    9 years ago

Awww the caterpillars. Thanks alot for sharing. Lol At your comments.

• docmom_gw
    9 years ago

I'm so proud of you for sharing with the teacher! It is so important for kids to be exposed to nature from as many different directions as possible. And it is hard to part with those babies once you've invested energy and emotion in their success. Keep up the good work.

Martha

• Beth Willett
    Original Author
    9 years ago

She was very excited to get them but I feel overprotective!!! Its her first year teaching and its 2nd grade. I bet those kids will love it! I want to know she knows how to take care of them though! I guess its not that difficult lol! I wonder if they will wait until spring or" hatch" (whatever you call it) sooner.

• angelimperfect36
    9 years ago

so pretty!! I am so jealous. I do get Giant Swallowtail coming to visit but no eggs :( I have Rue plants but she isn't laying there. I guess in the spring, I will have to get a citrus tree? My husband would kill me haha :O)

• kaboehm (zone 9a, TX USA)
    9 years ago

Beth, I am so glad yours are doing great. Even though I set mine up with an orange branch and florist pick, they never really started eating. I bought rue for next year and I may just bring one or two in. I'm thrilled at your success! (and disappointed in my failure...)
    Kristi

• alex928 Z8/LA
    9 years ago