Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
whenpiggsfly

What's eating my MILKWEED??

whenpiggsfly
10 years ago

No, it's not a Monarch caterpillar.

It's a light green caterpillar that's wrapped in a web. They're everywhere! And they've decimated my milkweed -almost nothing left to feed the Monarchs

Comments (29)

• hawaiiponder34
    10 years ago

Aphids?

• whenpiggsfly
    Original Author
    10 years ago

No, It's a light green caterpillar that's wrapped in a web - 100x the size of an aphid

• Leafhead
    10 years ago

It's a moth larva of some type. Moths can usually feed on many food sources, including Milkweed. Just move them far away and they'll find something else to munch on.

• colmoguez
    10 years ago

I am new to milkweed. I planted several plants this summer. The flowers and leaves were beautiful and I had one caterpiller. As the summer went on into August, red beetles showed up and ate every leaf on my plants! The caterpillar disappeared. All I have left of my plants are long spindly stems.I have no leaves on my milkweed plants. I've researched and read that the red bugs are okay. Are they really?? Should I cut back the plants? Where do I go from here? Help!

• linda_tx8
    10 years ago

Probably not what you have, but just in case...these can, if there's enough of them, strip and even sometimes kill a milkweed plant.

Here is a link that might be useful: Swamp Milkweed Beetle

• whenpiggsfly
    Original Author
    10 years ago

No, that's not what I've seen on mine. But isn't it amazing the number of critters who feast on the poor milkweed!

• docmom_gw
    10 years ago

There is also a tussock moth that I saw completely strip a milkweed plant this summer. All that was left was a single stalk that was literally engulfed by a solid layer of thick fuzz that was about one hundred moth cats. Apparently they don't travel to find another plant, because there were nearby plants that were untouched.

Martha

• ccsejtey
    8 years ago