Return to the Butterfly Garden Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
What's eating my MILKWEED??

Posted by whenpiggsfly 8 (My Page) on
Sat, Sep 21, 13 at 13:21

No, it's not a Monarch caterpillar.

It's a light green caterpillar that's wrapped in a web. They're everywhere! And they've decimated my milkweed -almost nothing left to feed the Monarchs

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: What's eating my MILKWEED??

Aphids?

o

No, It's a light green caterpillar that's wrapped in a web - 100x the size of an aphid

o

It's a moth larva of some type. Moths can usually feed on many food sources, including Milkweed. Just move them far away and they'll find something else to munch on.

o

I am new to milkweed. I planted several plants this summer. The flowers and leaves were beautiful and I had one caterpiller. As the summer went on into August, red beetles showed up and ate every leaf on my plants! The caterpillar disappeared. All I have left of my plants are long spindly stems.I have no leaves on my milkweed plants. I've researched and read that the red bugs are okay. Are they really?? Should I cut back the plants? Where do I go from here? Help!

o

To colmoguez: Those red beetles were probably the Milkweed Bug. I've heard all sorts of negatives about them (they DO eat blooms, seeds and leaves), but I don't think they strip the plant unless you have thousands of them. So it probably was your caterpillar (and possibly other caterpillars you didn't see) who ate the leaves.

Hopefully, the caterpillar(s) disappeared because it wandered off, formed a chrysalis and ultimately became a butterfly.

As for your milkweed... hasn't it begun putting out new leaves on ends of the stems? Even so, unless you're in Zone 9, it's doubtful it will rebound much before cold weather.

If you're in Zone 7 or below, the plant will probably freeze to the ground during the winter. If not, and if you have tropical milkweed, prune it back to the ground well before spring.