Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
beatrice_outdoors

Are these butterfly eggs on a milkweed?

beatrice_outdoors
11 years ago

Hi Everyone. This is my first time posting in this forum. I hope you can help. I pulled a milkweed plant out of my garden just now-it is the only one I had. As soon as I did it I remembered that butterflies lay eggs on milkweed, and my heart sank.

I have been growing my garden to attract butterflies, but did not realize I may actually provide egg sites, too.

Will the eggs survive if the plant dies? I do not know my butterflies well, but we had a LOT of them (and bumblebees) this year. Here's hoping I did not just cause some dreadful harm to the lifecycle.

The plant was lying on the ground, so I believe the black spots are dirt. Nothing seems to move when I gently poke it, so I don't think they are aphids either. It's just that there are so MANY.

I am in eastern Massachusetts (if that matters/helps).

Thanks for any help you can provide.

Beatrice

Comments (17)

• beatrice_outdoors
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Sorry-let me try adding the picture again!

• MissSherry
    11 years ago

It's probably all dirt, but some of those yellowish grains might be monarch eggs ready to hatch.
    I'm linking you to a site with a picture of a monarch egg. They're very small, so you may have to get out your magnifying glass to see if any have the typical vertical lines that monarch eggs have.

Hopefully, congratulations!

Sherry

Here is a link that might be useful: Monarch Life Cycle

• terrene
    11 years ago

Beatrice, I live in eastern Mass. too and in my area (metro west Boston) the Monarchs have LONG stopped laying eggs. The nights start getting too cold and they don't have enough time to complete their growth cycle. The last eggs I collected were probably laid Sept 1st or 2nd.