Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
candlecamp

Newbie? Help sick bsc.

candlecamp
10 years ago

I am new to this butterfly raising. I have successfully raised from eggs five bsc to their last in-stars. I ran out of parsley plants on Sunday and had to buy organic plants at the grocery store. The plants said they were organic. I put my little caterpillars on the new plants and was devastated to find them all curled up on the bottom of the container dying. They were fine 12 hours ago and getting ready to pupate shortly. They are oozing and still move when I touch them with a brush. I don't know what I did but am so upset about this that I don't know if I will want to try this again in the spring. I have previously raised my first cats to butterfly's. It was so exciting when I found these eggs on my parsley and the have been healthy up to this. Please advise ASAP with any diagnosis. Thanks carol.

Comments (10)

• Sandpaper Tongue
    10 years ago

I'm so sorry to hear about your cats. It sounds like the parsley was probably treated with Bt, which is considered an organic pesticide. Bt doesn't hurt people, but it does kill caterpillars, but it be used in plants labeled "organic". How sad! I would be heartbroken too.

Unfortunately, I don't think there's anything you can do for your cats now. Sometimes store bought parsley is safe, and sometimes it isn't, and there really isn't any way to know for certain.

Maybe next year you can grow some parsley from seed. In the ground, it can grow big and fast and will provide plenty of safe food for cats. And remember, if you didn't bring these cats in, 99% of them wouldn't have made it anyway. Nature is harsh for these guys.

• weed30 St. Louis
    10 years ago