Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
shannon74_gw

Delaying BF emergence with bad weather coming?

shannon74
13 years ago

Hi everyone

I have a Giant Swallowtail chrysalis turning dark, looks like it will emerge tomorrow. We also have two full days of possible bad storms coming with high winds, etc. Is there a way to try and delay the BF's emergence, OR should I try to keep him enclosed until the weather passes? I have never done that before and just wanted some advice on how to feed, or if it will even need to feed if it is not active.

Thanks a bunch!

Shannon

Comments (5)

• KC Clark - Zone 2012-6a OH
    13 years ago

I have never tried delaying a butterfly eclosion. With the chrysalis probably emerging tomorrow, I wouldn't even think about trying it.

Once it is out, I'd try one of two things:

1) Feed it. I have never had a GST (waiting for my chrysalids to provide me one) so I don't know what they like. I'd try Gatorade, Juicy Juice, sugar water, cut peaches, etc. When I have fed butterflies in the past, I put the liquid in a medicine cap but the person I know that does it everyday just pours little puddles on an impervious surface.

or

2) Put it in the fridge. I'd suggest inside wax paper inside an envelope. If the butterfly is very calm, you could just use a tupperware container (an excited butterfly will beat itself up trying to get out). That said, I've never put a GST in a fridge so I don't guarantee success. I have done it with monarchs, lunas and imperials (and probably some other big moths) for up to 3 days with no problems.

Good luck.

KC

• bella_shell
    13 years ago