Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
suzycentri_gw

Polyphemus moth Caterpillar

suzycentri
13 years ago

If you read my previous post, you know I'm a newbie.

If you read my follow up on that post, you might have read that I found two big fat green caterpillars last weekend. After doing a little more web surfing, I have decided that they are Polyphemus moth caterpillars.

Of course, I would love to see a big old moth come out of there. But I certainly don't want to take it out of it's habitat, accidentally killing it because I don't know what I'm doing.

So moth experts, what do you think? Are they a simple moth or a difficult one?

I'm reading that they come out of their cocoon in the early afternoon. But I'm also reading that it happens in early May. This is certainly not May, so that would make it an overwintering one. I've read that it might fall off the tree when the leaves fall off--which would be bad since my husband picks up leaves. I do have a place I could safely keep it (either outside or inside, and I don't know which is best).

Looks like they eat a pretty wide variety of trees, which I have.

Comments (10)

• KC Clark - Zone 2012-6a OH
    13 years ago

If you find a poly wandering around on the ground (or your grill), it is done eating and looking to make a cocoon.

Polys are multi-brooded. Depending where you are, the moth may eclose this year or next year.

If you have a poly cocoon, try to keep it in a place where the temperature is close to the outside temperature. They have been known to eclose in the dead of winter when kept warm.

When the moth emerges, let it go, preferably after dark so it doesn't get chased down by a local bird.

KC

• suzycentri
    Original Author
    13 years ago

Great, thank you! I went back to the tree last night and was able to find the second one, cocoon-ed up! I'm sure there is a word for that. :)

I'm in Kansas City, Missouri.