Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
need2seegreen

Asclepias Silky Scarlet

Hello:

this is my first time in Butterfly forum.

I have a bunch of Asclepias(sp?) Silky Scarlet. Basically, a milkweed.

And it grows and reproduces like kudzu. Thing is, I've never seen a single butterfly or caterpillar anywhere near it!

Is this because I'm on the 3rd floor and my patio gets very hot, or is it that butterflies don't like this particular variety of milkweed?

Your input is appreciated. ; >

Comments (3)

• docmom_gw
    11 years ago

Have you seen butterflies around your building at all? Or on other plants and flowers on your patio? How long have you been growing your milkweed? When I first started my butterfly garden, it took 2-3 years before I got anything but Cabbage Whites. It may take time for butterflies to find you. Is your plant Asclepias currasavica? I've not grown that variety, but there are others on this forum who have had good luck with it, I think. Good luck.

Martha

• bananasinohio
    11 years ago

Hmmm...always interesting to look at a question from another part of the country. Welcome!

So, I am putting my thinking cap on. There is lots of information on LA and monarchs and I have posted a few interesting links below. Monarch lab also has a PDF on monarchs in CA.