Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bedford8a

I have Monarch cats in North Texas- what to do?

bedford8a
12 years ago

I am a teacher in Arlington, Texas and have raised Monarchs in the past, but never this late before. A first grade teacher just brought me four monarch cats off her milkweed from home. They are now in a butterfly net house and one has already spun its chrysalis. The other three are big and look like they could also go to the chrysalis stage soon.

What should I do? Sure it gets warm sometimes in December in Dallas-Ft. Worth, but not reliably. Can I let them go on a warmish day in mid December after they emerge, or can I delay their emergence until Spring by placing them in a refrigerator or a cold garage?

Comments (6)

• butterflymomok
    12 years ago

You can only briefly delay their emergence by refrigerating them. If I were in your situation, I would go ahead and let the caterpillars pupate and keep them in a warm, light area so that they will eclose as soon as possible. And I would release them on a warm day and hope they would travel south.

You can keep the pupae cooler than normal, but not too cold, to slow down the process. However, if you do so, you may run the risk of having them eclose during colder weather.

Monarchs will not live through the winter as pupae. They also won't survive as adults if they are not in their overwintering colonies.

Good luck!

Sandy

• bedford8a
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Thanks for your response, Sandy. I have brought them indoors and they are getting very active. The teacher brought me a handful of Tropical Milkweed stems for the cats to feed on and they are eating and crawling around.

Texas weather is very unpredictable this time of year - maybe we'll have a few warm days in a row and the butterflies will be able to make it to South Texas and beyond. We have a hard freeze coming this weekend up in North Texas, but there still may be flowers south of here for them. Fingers crossed!

• mechelle_m