Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lichelle58

Can they be saved? 4 months before/after pics

lichelle58
9 years ago

I got this beautiful terrarium four months ago as a gift:
{{gwi:2122984}}
I kept it in a north-facing corner-room of our apartment that has 6 standard sized windows. Unfortunately, #4 died only three weeks in and I removed it. #5 have been dying off slowly, they're not as plump and keep dropping leaves. Eventually the main stem shrivels up and I remove it. I only have two of #5 left. Then #6 died about three week ago...
{{gwi:2122986}}

Then I found these little white furry balls in the soil last week. They were around #5 and where #4 used to be:
{{gwi:2122987}}
I'm a newb at all this but I read on some forums here that it might be root mealybugs. So I took everything out of the terrarium, washed the glass, disposed of the soil, washed out the soil from all the roots, soaked them in hot water for a few seconds, left them out to dry for a day, mixed up a new soil medium (cactus mix, gravel, and perlite), repotted them in separate containers and watered them (maybe I shouldn't of watered them right away...?). I don't have pictures of what the roots looked like, but they seemed small and flimsy. Is that normal? I'm especially concerned about #1 because it is so long and doesn't have many roots to hold it upright. I didn't see any black color on any of them but could it still be root rot?

Here's how they look now in their new soil and pots:

{{gwi:2122988}}

{{gwi:2122989}}

{{gwi:2122990}}

{{gwi:2122991}}

Thanks in advance!

Comments (8)

• greenclaws UK, Zone 8a
    9 years ago