Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
biinaboo

Cutting questions on Jade

Kristiina DiOrio
9 years ago

I have several jades that I'm trying to rescue. This one is next on the chopping block. I am fairly new to this so I wanted to ask a little advice on where to chop. This picture shows 2 options. I'm leaning towards the right only because I feel like it leans too much and I want to straighten it a bit. Black lines are where I plan to cut. Good...bad...am I clueless?

Thanks! Kristiina

Comments (15)

• greenman28 NorCal 7b/8a
    9 years ago

Yes, I would certainly straighten the tree when re-potting. It doesn't need to be completely vertical, of course - a little off-vertical is fine because the plant will grow into position with good sunlight over the Summer. Also, take advantage of that cool curvature in the trunk - that will be a real asset one day.

I think your pruning lines are good. I would wait to prune until the Summer, though. The plant is suffering from lack of light and it won't recover as quickly if you chop it now. Also, the re-growth/backbudding won't be as uniform.

Josh

• greenclaws UK, Zone 8a
    9 years ago

OK, before you go in for the chop the first question is...are there holes in the pot?
    Second question....what is it planted in? It needs a fast draining gritty mix, do a search on here for 'gritty mix', loads of info as it looks like its in peat or similar? Hard to tell so I may be wrong.
    It is very etiolated, and the branches are thin, a sign of lack of light, it needs much more.
    As long as there are nodes, marks where old leaves have fell off, it will sprout, they are quite forgiving in that respect, so go as tight as you dare, it will respond even better for a hard prune.
    If it's in the wrong soil you can straighten up even more when you re-pot.

Gill UK.

• zzackey
    9 years ago

I'd go with the second photo if I was cutting it and root the cuttings.

• Kristiina DiOrio
    Original Author
    9 years ago