Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bassetlvr_gw

rooting jade cuttings

bassetlvr
17 years ago

Hello to all. How do I propagate jade plant cuttings? I have tried everything and I lose them every doggone time to rot. I have a beautiful jade with the oval leaves and I would like to take cuttings. We will probably be moving sometime later this year and I don't want to take this plant with me if I can help it. It's in a huge (and I do mean huge) clay pot that goes with the landscaping here, so I will leave it, however, I would like to at least have rooted cuttings of it.

Will those of you out there who have successfully rooted jade cuttings advise me and tell me what your secret is?

Thank you,

Louise B.

Comments (20)

• hawk307
    17 years ago

Hi LouiseB: I'm fairly new to Jades but have had success,
    rooting Jade leaves and cuttings. My wife had a few pots of soil that had flowers removed. I put all this into my garden barrel, broke it up and took out all the roots and
    debris. I added some Perlite, then mixed it well. I used this to fill 4 inch clay pots. Then I broke off some healthy leaves from my Jade and stuck one in each pot,
    with the base under the soil slightly. I put 2 tablespoons
    of water near the base, then left them in a lighted window.
    In a couple months they were about 3 inches tall. I just watered them about once a week. I did this with cuttings too. Cut a branch, I thought would grow into a nice
    shape and stuck it into the soil, with no watering for about a week. I understand that you should leave the cuttings out for about one week and then plant them but!!!!!!! I guess can't wait that long.
    You will probably get many answers to you question.
    There are a lot of helpers on the Forum.
    Maybe someone could elborate on my answer.
    LOU

• amany
    17 years ago

Hi Louise.