Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
heidispargel

New to succulents- is it too cold to grow in Boston?

heidispargel
10 years ago

Hi everyone,

I'm completely new to succulents and got my first one two weeks ago. It is a burro's/donkey tail. I've been doing a lot of research on it and love it. I'm starting to worry if I will be able to grow them here as it has been snowing lots and the window sil it lives on is extremely cold. I don't want it to frost over. Are there any tricks or tips people who grow succulents in cold climates have for me? Thank you so much

Comments (11)

• cactusmcharris, interior BC Z4/5
    10 years ago

Move it away from the cold window is the first move. Keep it warm and as much light as possible, just don't water it much.

In the spring, as it gets sunnier, give it more light. If you can grow it outside, do so in the summer - it will love the summer rains.

Bring it inside in the fall when it starts getting cold - most succulents are not cold-hardy, and they'll go into dormancy / slow growing then.

In a few words, most succulents will do well where you are. We can't wait until you show us several hundred, like many of us have and/or most of us want to have....like this Haworthia truncata.

{{gwi:98622}}

• heidispargel
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Thank you so much! The only problem is the best window for it to get sun happens to get really cold. Is it more important to give it the best light possible in this window or keep it warm, away from the window?

Does anyone know the best way to propagate burro's tail with the bulbs that fall off? I know I can take a clipping but wondering if you can grow from the individual bulb seeds as well.

Thanks for everyone's help I am very new to this and appreciate all the help I can get

• nomen_nudum
    10 years ago

Enoyed the show ? Nice Haworthias... like the H. truncata

• TT, zone 5b MA
    10 years ago