Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
shoefiend_gw

How to care for this succulent?

shoefiend
11 years ago

Hi,
I am a newbie gardener and love succulents for indoor plants.

I bought this plant from Home Depot a few months back and have been watering it sparingly (letting the soil dry before I re-water). Last month I was out travelling and came back after a few weeks afraid the plant might have died.

Instead, I was surprised to find it alive and well - with these new small sprouts.

1. What is the name of this plant?
2. What do these sprouts mean? Can I clip them and grow them into their own plants?
3. I am now watering it once a week. is that good/bad?

Comments (9)

• Colleen E
    11 years ago

Well, sadly, succulents are not indoor plants for the most part, so you don't have one that looks are nice as it could. I believe this plant is desperately struggling for more light. That would be the main reason the sprouts you note (which are the "pups" of this Sempervivum) are stretched out like they are. If you look up Sempervivum, you'll see what the offshoots should look like and see what I mean by these not looking as they should.

Normally, you could clip the offsets and set them in dry soil to root, and they'd become their own plants. Or, you could leave them be and the plant would form a clump of rosettes. But with how stretched they are now, I don't know quite how well the normal process of clipping them and rooting them would work out for you, or how healthy the plant would eventually look if you left the offshoots be and let them develop. What's looking stretched can't be reversed, and the plant is meant to become a nice compact clump. Because these offshoots you have are so flimsy, I don't know if it'd look great to keep them. I personally would clip them, and then if you'd like to try to root them on their own for experimentation, cut off only the very ends of the offshoots and stick them in dry soil (rather than the whole lengthy segment).