Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
photoreilly

Help with jade plant please

photoreilly
11 years ago

Hey everyone. I just bought a jade plant from the store. I was wanting to take a cutting and grow one normally and grow one bonsai. What do you guys think I should do with this plant. I also have miracle grow cactus mix and perlite, how should I go about repotting it. I'm looking forward to follow-ups because I want to do something relatively quickly. Sorry for the poor picture quality. It will only let me do one picture at a time on the iPad.

Comments (13)

• photoreilly
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Is this multiple plants or just one. Sorry I'm new to jades

• photoreilly
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Last one

• kaktuskris
    11 years ago

There are multiple cuttings in that one pot. Jade is a winter grower, so it is safe to repot now. Make sure to use a fast draining potting medium.

Christopher

• Jademan2012
    11 years ago

Winter grower? Mine grow vigorously all summer long and no growth in the winter. Maybe because I'm in a northern climate.

• photoreilly
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Thanks for the reply I did 2 parts perlite 1 part aquarium gravel 1 part MG cactus mix in a plastic pot with drainage holes and river rocks at bottom of pot. How would I manage to take cuttings from it and how much could I take. How would I plant those. And when should I water. They're in a west window. I'm really sorry for the list of questions. I just really like the looks of this plant and want to try a couple of different things with different cuttings. Thanks

• mrlike2u
    11 years ago

West is second best and would be okay for a while but C. Ovata " Jade" would preference a southern window.