Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
photoreilly

Trichereus pachanoi (San Pedro) from seed

photoreilly
11 years ago

Hey this is my first post to this forum along with my first time growing cacti from seed. I recently started over 100 seeds. I had top soil, perlite, sand, seed starting mix. Between those I made a couple different combinations so I can see what works best. I have them each in individual containers with either a clear lid, cling wrap or plastic bag with holes poked it it. All mixtures were cleaned in the microwave. I have 2, 42 watt cfl's. They are set on 18/6 light cycle. Along with a heating pad set on the same timer underneath the containers. The containers have an internal temperature of about 80-90 degrees F during the day and about 65-70 during dark hours. I was wanting to know what you guys thought of my setup. Are there any improvements I could make, because I am by no means an expert on cactus from seeds. When do you guys tend to see sprouts? I'm on day 5. I am glad to keep you guys and gals all updated with results and pictures. I'm looking forward to everyone's feedback

Comments (31)

• Stush2049 Pitts. PA, zone 6
    11 years ago

photoreilly,
    Welcome. I did the same thing only not as all out as you did. I used a take home container (with the clear top). Used regular soil mix with more sand added. Kept soil moist (not wet) and covered. It was in a warm spot until I saw sprouts them put in a window. They sprouted in about a week or so. Looked like grass at first.
    {{gwi:469399}}
    {{gwi:469399}}
    {{gwi:499404}}
    {{gwi:499405}}
    I still have a lot to give away to anyone who wants. They are Cereus peruvianus.
    Stush

• 123Greta
    11 years ago

Oh! I'd love a C. peruvianus seedling, Stush!

Best of luck, Photoreilly! Definitely keep us updated. I would like to know how it turns out for you.

• photoreilly
    Original Author
    11 years ago