Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
nao_chan_gw

Newbie here: Need Echeveria help.

nao_chan
11 years ago

Hi there! Newbie here.

A friend of mine gave me a plant as a gift. From research, I believe it's an echeveria.

When I got it, it was green and had some scratches/scars and black patches on the leaves, and a few offsets/pups.

I noticed that the upper leaves were curling upwards. From what I've read, this might be due to lack of sun, so I placed Echos on the balcony behind a glass door so it could get as much sun but not get too wet in case it rains.

I live in the Philippines and the weather here is a bit off.
There are days when it is very hot in the morning and then rains heavily in the afternoon, or just cloudy the whole day.

Now a week has passed (and I still haven't potted it) the lower leaves turned yellow-orange and dry. Also, there is this cut on the stem mid-tier.

I'm panicking a bit right now. I don't want Echos to die on me.
:(

Any help is much appreciated.

Thanks!
Naomi

Comments (12)

• bikerdoc5968 Z6 SE MI
    11 years ago

Hi Naomi and welcome to this forum. Yes, this is an Echeveria. It is normal for them to have the lower leaves turn yellow/brown, dry and fall off. Eventually, it will grow a tall stalk and you will want to remove the head along with several inches of stem, allow it to callous for a week or more and replant it. The remaining stem should grow new heads with time. The black spots might be water damage when droplets remain and sun causes a local burn. Other may have other opinions.

• rosemariero
    11 years ago

Welcome, Naomi. =) Sounds good where you have positioned it~considering your weather/conditions. Thumbs up there! Good idea to get it in a pot soon. :) Yes, you've got it...it IS an Echeveria...Echeveria 'Imbricata', I believe.