Return to the Cacti & Succulents Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Can anyone tell me if this is root rot or under watering?

Posted by cyneo none (My Page) on
Sat, Mar 8, 14 at 4:17

Hi I am very new to succulents but i really love them so when this fella started to look weird I decided to dig up the decorative rocks that came with it and i saw this. I tried to touch the soil, but it is hard and needed some digging to get past the surface.

I have not done anything much to it since i got it last week. i tried pressing the leaves, and most of them were hard like they are supposed to be(?) and one or two of them felt like dried sponge. I think this is underwatering? but i am not sure.

I killed 2 plants from over over watering already so I am very hesitant to add more water to the plant.

Do advise!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Can anyone tell me if this is root rot or under watering?

I gave in ti my panic instinct and watered it. After wetting the soil, i used a tooth pick to loosen the soil. From the looks of it, the soil is moist and there is no 'leftover' water. I hope i didn't damage the roots too much and that i didn't water too much that i risk root rot =(

o

• Posted by Deva33 5... southeast Iowa (My Page) on
    Sat, Mar 8, 14 at 13:06

I can't tell from the pic if it is root rot or not. The soil looks very dry, so I would have watered it too. Is it still in the soil you purchased it in? If so I would recommend repotting it in fresh soil. You can find treads on here for soil combinations. Hope that helps!

o

Looks at a glance like rot coming up at the bottom. Is it soft & or mushy? That would be rot for sure & would need to be cut off completely.

Sorry, but that looks like rot at the base of that plant, will only spread over time.

Pls. be sure the pot has a drainage hole -- if not there will be future problems as well.

o

PG,
I didn't see that darkness at the base of the OP's plants. Let's hope it's just the lighting and not rot. :/

Planto

o