Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
caligrown

Some fun with the DSLR

caligrown
10 years ago

I had some spare time yesterday so I decided to mess around with my new-ish macro filters. As a broke college student I cant afford the macro lens I want, so I decided to buy these macro filters as a substitute till I can save up the money. I didn't have high hopes for the filters as I only spent 10 or so dollars on them. I was pleasantly surprised by them to say the least. For those of you who are in to photography can you please honesty critique my pictures? I have thick skin so don't worry about my feelings. Thanks in advance.

Regards, Patrick

Aloe humilis flower/s

{{gwi:505510}}

{{gwi:505512}}

Gasteria liliputana fflowers

{{gwi:505514}}

Comments (12)

• caligrown
    Original Author
    10 years ago

NOID Semp.

{{gwi:505516}}

Dyckia "Micheal Andreas"

{{gwi:505517}}

Aloe "Lime Fizz"

{{gwi:505050}}

{{gwi:505518}}

Agave filifera sp. schidigera "White Stripe"

{{gwi:505519}}

• frankc1964
    10 years ago

They all look good.

Macro filters can soften the image a bit.

What are you using - Nikon or Canon?

Does it have a "live view"?

The old macro lenses can be had for next to nothing if you know what to look for.

Live view helps because it give you critical focus using an older manual focus lens.

• tsugajunkie z5 SE WI ♱
    10 years ago

Looks good. The depth of field is sacrificed with the macro filters so, until you get the lens, try to get as much of of the subject in the same plane as you can.

tj

• frankc1964
    10 years ago

Also, do a few tests and stop the lens down, especially if you have a tripod.

Most kit lenses have a sweet spot at f8 but you can still shoot at f14 and get fine results.

• wantonamara Z8 CenTex
    10 years ago

I would have thought that the higher the Fstop the greater the depth of field.

• bikerdoc5968 Z6 SE MI
    10 years ago