Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dancercr

Aloe Vera Help

dancercr
10 years ago

Hi everyone!
I have a couple of Aloe Vera plant questions for you.
I'm REALLY new to gardening (I don't really know much other than what they tell me at the nursery on how to care for plants) but my roommate who tours often has left me in charge of her aloe vera plant.

At first, I noticed that it was growing 'out' and not 'up'. The babies (I *think* that's what they're called?) in the centre of the plant were numerous, but they didn't seem to be growing, they would just shoot up and then out. It sort of looked like a tarantula plant...all the leaves were sticking out sideways and drooping down, with the exception of the little babies in the centre.

I also noticed that the leaves were getting little brown spots on them, and after doing a bit of research I learned that this was most likely due to sun over-exposure, so I moved the plant to a different room.

NEXT, I noticed that the poor plant was drooping even MORE, and that the leaves were really cold. Stupid me - I had put it on a bookshelf next to our back door (I live in Winnipeg, where it was the coldest winter in Canada this past year), so after MORE research, I found that wrapping it in a warm towel and keeping the room heated would help. Which I did...and it seemed to.

THEN, disaster. My little neice was over one day and when I had my back turned, she 'played' with the plant (essentially, yanked out the centre babies). This left a huge gaping hole, and I panicked. I came online to this forum and asked for help, where I was essentially told not to pour water directly into the hole and hopefully it would sprout new leaves elsewhere in the pot. This didn't happen.

The guy seems to be trucking along...the hole is still there, but I *think* I see some growth in the centre.

Here are my questions (finally):