Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jessica84_gw

can anyone ID this plant?

jessica84
11 years ago

I've had this plant for years and have no idea what it is. I'm thinking it might be some sort of jade..?? I have more picts if needed. Thank you!

Comments (66)

• jessica84
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Can you possibly guide me with a good cutting? I'm very afraid to harm it, its been with me so long, and I'm a little new at more aspects of.plants other than planting, feeding and essentials.

• pirate_girl
    11 years ago

Hi again Jessica,

This is not a fragile plant, pls. don't be afraid to harm it. It's often recommended to pinch these back frequently to keep them lush & full. Yours appears very nicely lush & full already.

Maybe try that area towards the back that looks a bit scraggly? Using just your fingers, pinching btwn thumb & index finger, pinch off a couple of stem tips each containing 3 or 4 pairs of leaves.

Then pull off a pair of lower leaves from that so you've got an inch or 2 of stem at the bottom of each cutting, & drop them into a small glass of water; place the glass of water w/ cuttings in bright, indirect light, no direct sun. Bet you'll have roots in less than 5 days, if that.

• rosemariero
    11 years ago

While I am not sure your plant is a Kalanchoe blossfeldiana, I am not convinced it is a Plectranthus australis (Swedish Ivy) either. I considered it being grown indoors for a long period of time & how that might affect its growth habit.

Can you tell us if the stems are round or squared?

You say the flowers were white. You also thought they looked like Plectranthus you found online, as Karen suggested.
    Did your flowers look like one of the following?

{{gwi:526527}} {{gwi:526529}}

I don't see the veining in the leaves I would expect in Swedish Ivy (Plectranthus). The petioles are not long & skinny either.