Return to the Cacti & Succulents Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Fuzzy Succulent: Brown Spots & Shriveling Leaves

Posted by RTavs PA (My Page) on
Mon, Apr 28, 14 at 11:02

Help! I'm new to succulents and trying my best here. I haven't yet identified this little guy, but he's definitely not doing well in my care. He has full sunlight in a bright, south facing window. The window gets bright light for most of the day. I've been watering until some seeps out the bottom, and then allowing to dry completely (about 7 days) before watering again. However, the leaves keep shriveling up and falling off, and I've noticed brown spots on the leaves and brown edges. Thank you!!!!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Fuzzy Succulent: Brown Spots & Shriveling Leaves

That looks like Echeveria 'Doris Taylor' (also known as 'Woolly Rose'). Sorry, I can't provide any other information; I don't grow Echeverias.

There are some Echeveria experts on here though, you should have an answer soon enough. :)

Planto

o

Not 'Doris Taylor'... not even Elizabeth Taylor. Possibly, E. pulvinata 'Ruby'. The picture is E. 'Doris Taylor' as she appears today.

Leaf loss on Echeveria, like any other plant, is a normal function of life. They will lose their lower leaves with time. If, however, you find the leaves are soft, they may not be getting enough water because of root rot or just under watering. As for the spots, not certain but could be water damage?????? And now after taking a second look, you might want take a look at the roots because that potting mix is rather heavy and looks like it may stay wet for some time... not good for a succulent. If the roots are good, i.e., look whitish, then add perlite, 50%, to what you have and replant. If the roots are rotted, cut the stem just above the roots and allow the stem to callous for a week and replant.

This post was edited by bikerdoc5968 on Mon, Apr 28, 14 at 15:04

o