Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
nmd15

Succulent help!!

nmd15
9 years ago

Hi! I am a beginner when it comes to plants. I am unable to post more than one picture but my succulent (not sure what type) began as a dark purple color with its leaves pointing up. A year past and my succulent turned green and the leaves opened up and was very full, I ended up repotting it because it was too wide for its previous pot. Months have passed in its new pot but now my succulent is getting tall and it's very thin looking now. Also the leaves at the bottom keep drying up and falling off, while the top remains fine. I noticed it has small budding plants coming off the bottom of the stem as well and I am not sure if that is affecting the way it grows. I'll admit, I know verrrrryyy little about plants, but I would really like to help my succulent grow healthy!!

Comments (8)

• nmd15
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Here is how my succulent looked when I first got it years ago....it looks completely different now, I don't know what happened to it

• hijole
    9 years ago

Looks like he does'nt get out much, ( lack of sun ) actually that's what he needs a good sun bath. What zone are you in maybe it doesn't allow for that and it could only make it worse. If that's the case place him in the brightest window.
    To me it appears to be an aeonium of some sort & then the color ChAnGeD completely from being indoors.

Have a great day, Greg

• nmd15
    Original Author
    9 years ago

I live in texas, so I have plenty of sun, however how much sun is appropriate? I noticed I used to put him outside on my balcony (east facing balcony and windows..I live in an apartment) and his leaves would get really mushy from the sun, maybe a sunburn? So every since then I kept him inside and near a window...and yeah..there isn't too much sun since I kept the shades only semi open.

• hijole
    9 years ago