Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lullafishi

Help! Newbie with severely damaged cactus

lullafishi
10 years ago

I just acquired this 5 foot cactus and it's in awful shape. Apparently it was neglected in a basement without light, water, or heat for a few months. I'm new to cacti but I'm desperate to save this plant!

Numerous arms have fallen over at the joints, some large stems are getting soft and have spots of mold, the base still feels hard but has spots of mold here and there and isn't a healthy color. The tips are the only thing that seem healthy.

Can I save this? What do I do?

Comments (11)

• Bugholio
    10 years ago

I would cut off a few of the tops with good growth and plant them. Cut it like in the photo. Just do one section. Put the cutting in a dark place and allow to callus. Once the wound is dry stick it in sandy soil. That will give you a new plant. I think the mother plant will be ok if you slowly give it more and more light. Avoid direct midday sun for three weeks. Looks like a dragon fruit plant. If it is never give it full midday sun if you want it to fruit. Morning and afternoon sun are ok.

• mingtea
    10 years ago

Looks more like a euphorbia to me but can't tell more from the pics. You'll know if there's white latex when you cut (careful with this). In any case, that's some good advice :)

-Ming

• kaktuskris
    10 years ago

I believe Ming is right, this is a Euphorbia. If it bleeds white latex, that is the proof. But beware of the latex, it can cause skin and eye irritation, so take precautions.

I would take the plant out of the pot and check the roots for rot. Also repot in a fast draining potting medium, I would use a clay pot. If the plants roots are good, I would wait about a week after repotting, and then water thoroughly. Cuttings can be taken for rooting separately.

Christopher

• lullafishi
    Original Author
    10 years ago