Return to the Cacti & Succulents Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
"Perle Von Nurnberg," Echeveria hybrid HELP

Posted by nmd15 Texas (My Page) on
Wed, Apr 16, 14 at 12:51

I am new to plants, and this is my second succulent! I know...I haven't repotted it yet and looking to find a little pot small enough for it! However, when I first got it, it was the normal flat flower shape and now it has grown tall. I noticed my other succulent is doing the same thing, growing out of shape and growing up instead of out, I'm not sure why this keeps happening. Also will it ever go back to its original flat flower shape?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: "Perle Von Nurnberg," Echeveria hybrid HELP

How much sun are they in? These need full sun or the do tend to get unhealthfully etiolated (stretched out).

o

Yes, definitely a sun issue. With a lot more sun, the plant will start to grow normally, the leaves will turn upwards and it will get that nice pink/purple color back. However, you will probably want to behead the plant at some point after it starts growing normally, because the stem has gotten so long.

o

Yeah, I am guilty for not giving it much sun... I hate my apartment lay out, it's either not much light in the windows or full on scorching heat on my balcony. Right now the weather is great here in south texas so I'm going to put him back outside, I'll just have to be careful when it's full on summer here again My balcony turns into an inferno and gets scorching hot... at one point last summer it made my other succulent leaves all mushy, I'm guessing from the intense heat. You mentioned beheading the plant...I can just directing cut the top off and it won't kill it? I know I can pull leaves off but I'm hesitant on cutting through the stem. Sorry I'm new to this, and really don't know much about my succulent yet!

o