Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
arvin_arbolado

succulent leaf cuttings drying up or turning black/purple

arvin_arbolado
10 years ago

Hi,
I'm a newbie in growing succulents as well as in this forum so forgive me for my questions. I recently tried to propagate leaf cuttings using what i learned from the internet.
1. Let leaf cut dry for a day or two
2. Put them on a 1:1 mix of potting soil/peat and perlite/pumice
3. Wait till they either root or sprout new plant.

My problem is that instead of what its supposed to do, they dry up or turn black/purple. At fist i placed them in the house, when that did not work i placed them outside under the sun. I sometimes mist them. What am i doing wrong? The succulents I'm working on now are echeverias and pachyphytums.

BTW, I live in the Philippines and it starting summer now.

Any help will do. Thank you in advance.

Comments (29)

• cactusmcharris, interior BC Z4/5
    10 years ago

Arvin,

You're doing the first part right, but you might be needing to mist them more often, every other day or every day is recommended. Keep them in only partial sun until you see them rooting, then you can pot them up and treat them as plants.

• arvin_arbolado
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Hi,
    By partial sun, will it work if i just put them indoor where the sunlight somehow comes in? Base on my observatio, when i mist them often that is the time that some parts of the leaf turn black or purple. When the leaf turns black, should i discard them already or is there still a chance of life? Should i just mist the potting instead of the leaf or both?
    Btw, based on your experience how does it take them to root?

sorry for so many questions.

thank you

10 years ago

Discard the leaves and start with fresh ones.

It will take about two weeks if ambient temps are warm (20C or better).

• arvin_arbolado
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Thank you very much. Will follow your instructions and provide updates. Good luck to me