Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
succulentzz

Conophytum Help!

succulentzz
9 years ago

Hi Everyone!

I'm pretty new to mesemb type plants and have managed to nurture a couple to the brink of death. After some research I've learned about not overwatering them and allowing the old skin to be absorbed by the growing leaves.

I recently purchased what I believe to be a Conophytum from a garden center, it was sitting in very moist potting mix and the outer leaf seemed a bit mushy but I could see that there was a new set of leaves growing inside, so i figured it could be brought back to health.

After a couple days, I started to smell a bad rotting vegetable/garbage smell coming from the plant and noticed that it had some damaged skin on the side, hidden by the soil originally. I repotted it in a gritty mix and decided to dab some rooting powder on it for some anti-fungal measure (though I have no idea if that would help a leaf wound at all). I made sure not to water it at all since bringing the plant home. After a couple days, it started to collapse on that side and get more shriveled and smelly.

At that point, I just wanted to find out what was going on under the outer skin and hopefully salvage what I could of the plant so i cut off the outer skin and peeled it off mostly. To my surprise, the new leaves were unharmed and dried flower had been hiding between the layers as well.

My question is - have I killed my plant by prematurely removing the outer leave that it absorbs its water from? or does that just mean I have to begin watering it a bit earlier?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated! Below is a picture of my plant after I removed most of the rotting outer skin.

Thanks!

Comments (2)

• hanzrobo
    9 years ago

Hello!